A Home Rule Community

Village of Prairie Grove, IL

the sun setting


About Us


Village Audits
Village Meetings


Freedom of Information Act

Electric Aggregation

Rte 176 Plan

Town Center Grant



Public Works

Parks and Rec

Municipal Code



Contact Us

Site Map

Up • Staff • Village Board • Planning & Zoning Commission • A.R.C. • Be Involved

Village Staff


The Village staff includes a Clerk, and members of our own Building, Police and Public Works Departments. In addition the Village has several committees which include Financial Planning, Parks, Police, Planning & Zoning Commission and Architectural Review. Our Emergency staff is serviced by either the Nunda Township Rural Fire District or the Crystal Lake Fire District.

Village Board

Prairie Grove has adopted the village government style. The officers of the village are elected officials. There is a Village President and six Village Board of Trustees. The elections and offices are held every four years. There are no term limits on the offices. Click on the Link above to see the incumbents. Laws and ordinances are voted on and enacted by the Board.

Planning & Zoning Commission

The Planning & Zoning Commission was established on March 21, 2006 by combining some members of the former Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) and Planning Commission.  Their responsibilities include oversight of future growth and development of the community. These offices are appointed by and advisory to the Village Board. Click on the Link above to see the members of the Planning and Zoning Commission.

Architectural Review Committee

The Architectural Review Committee ("A.R.C.") insures that new and enhanced structures meet the demands of the community and maintain the image demanded by the community. Members of this committee are appointed by the Village Board. Click on the link above to view the members of this committee.